TS #9/Hermine



20160904_3955-copy

To distract myself this past weekend, I put the finishing touches on the working copy of my Japanese Stab Bound book The Way We Work/Clam Boogie. For a while, the distraction worked. Then the reality of Tropical Storm # 9/Hurrican Hermine and the ferocious damage it caused began to sink in. Although I had initially thought the storm would not be much of a problem, I began to realize that I was wrong and it became the most destructive storm to hit the area in the decades I have lived here. In one way or another, it affected everybody in the Cedar Keys. Most of the businesses and many of the homes in town were either destroyed or severely damaged. Which means that people immediately lost their livelihood while at the same time incurring considerable expenses and hardships, and these don’t go away at the end of the 24 hour news cycle, they linger, often  beyond full recovery.

Perhaps it was serendipity that I just started reading Alan W. Watts’s  The Wisdom Of Insecurity.

Except for a brief exception, I have not been in touch with the crew of the Clam Boogie. My concern is that they all were greatly affected by the storm, both at home and at the workplace. I am keeping my fingers crossed. Here is a photo of Jeffrey and Brett made during my last/pre-hurricane trip with them.


20160722_3701instgrm

 

 

 

 

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, Artist's book, artist's book, bird-dog, black & white, black and white, clam farming, clamming, documentary, documentary, hand made, Kraft paper, Made with Paper, photo book, photography, Southern Photography, the way we work. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TS #9/Hermine

  1. Dave says:

    Yikes! I hope they are well and able to recover…

Leave a Reply

