Photobook…..



20160724_3840instgrm

 

I keep working on my 8×10 inch  Strathmore Drawing paper  photo book, finished the front and back cover made with board and Kraft Paper. It’s the same as I have used all along. However, it had been a while since I made one, so I had to go back and see how it is done. My two main references are Sage Reynolds outstanding youtube videos on bookbinding and Peter Baumgartner’s fine video on Japanese stab binding. I use his method/pattern for binding the spine. While making the covers I messed up enough so this one is strictly my ‘working copy.’ My biggest weakness so far is my  fumbling with the page design and layout. At the same time, it is pretty neat playing around with the various possibilities.

The pages in the photo above are perhaps just a bit punchier than in reality, and the odd color cast is due to the funky lighting under which I made the photograph. I print the actual pages on my Epson R3000 using the Advanced Black and White setting, so the color in the prints stays pretty consistent.

 

 

 

 

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, artist's book, black & white, black and white, book, documentary, documentary, Florida, hand made, Kraft paper, Made with Paper, photo book, photography, Southern Photography, the way we work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

