The Way We Work…..book



20131207_4747nikwebinstgrm

A couple of days ago I ran across my above book – I was surprised how good it looked to me and how well it had held up. It was the motivation I needed to get started on another one. The last couple of years I have been going out with the crew of Calm Boogie several times, and lately, I have been trying to go out at least once a month or so. Some of them I have known since they were in high school and they have been extremely supportive of my work, and I get a big wave from them whenever I see them when I ride my bicycle on the back road where their ‘shop’ is.

So I started printing proof pages [see below]. While I can roughly edit my work on the computer, I really need to hold the pages in my hand to get a good sense of how things will look, also photos that look good on my computer screen don’t necessarily look that good in print. As before I am printing on 8×10 inch Strathmore Drawing paper. Of course, it is not an inkjet paper and the image quality suffers a bit. Nevertheless to me that loss is made up by the feel and look of the paper. I am sure it is not everybody’s ‘cup of tea.’ My plan is to make a very small edition of books using the Japanese stab binding technique again, along with Kraft Paper for the cover.


20160701_3317instgrm

 

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, artist's book, clam farming, clamming, documentary, documentary, hand made, Kraft paper, Made with Paper, photography, Southern Photography, the way we work. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Way We Work…..book

  1. Wesley Rains says:

    Once again you are welcome on our boat anytime! :-)

  2. Dave says:

    I’m game!

  3. Looks beautiful, i’m looking forward to following the process. I’m trying to work out what to do with some of my prints and have starting looking into doing a binding.

    • Hi Brendan, many thanks for your comments. I am afraid my process is going slow as molasses. There are some excellent and inspirational videos on youtube about all sorts of book bindings. Don’t hesitate to ask me questions. I may not have the answers, but….

  4. Marianne says:

    Hey ԝould you mind stating which blog platform уou’re using?
    I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m
    having a tough time seⅼeⅽting bеtween BlogEngine/Ԝordpress/B2evolution and
    Drupal. Tһe reason I ask is because your design and stylе ѕeems different then most blogs and І’m looking fοr something
    unique. P.S My apologies for getting off-topic bᥙt I
    had to ask!

    • Hey, Marianne – thanks for your note. I sorta understand your question, but as you can see from the blog URL I am using ‘wordpress.com’
      If I remember correctly, I created a header for the blog [my name] as a jpg in Photoshop and just inserted it where the program lets you put in an image.
      Let me know if that makes sense. I would be glad to tell you whatever I know!
      Best – christian

Leave a Reply

