Southern Road…


20160104_0896panonik

United States Post Office, Salem FL

I pass this place often when driving up and down US 19, it always fascinates me. There are more derelict buildings to the left, including an old motel. To me the scene is loaded with meaning, to be interpreted many different ways.

Unfortunately this is one of the last photos I made with my beloved Canon G 10. I destroyed it when the camera strap wound itself around my left shoe as I got out of the car, slamming it onto the road. Over the years I have made many foolish mistakes with my cameras, this was the most serious one.

 

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in 19/98, art, black & white, black and white, documentary, Florida, Florida Highways, highway culture, landscape, photography, Southern Photography, Southern Road. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

