Along the Trail…


20150929_0088NIKCwebI have the great good fortune to live withing a stone’s throw of a fantastic network of bicycle trails. A superbly landscaped and maintained trail takes me along one of the main highway arteries to the trail head of the St. Marks Trail, which lies atop the the narrow gauge railroad bed of the Tallahassee to St. Marks railroad. If I wanted to ride  all the way to St. Marks from our place it would be a forty mile round trip. As it is I am totally satisfied to put in my 20 miles most mornings. The mileage app on my smart phone tells me that I am averaging just over 100 miles a week, which for right now is a nice, round number.

There is a small section along the trail in Wakulla County with an amazing assortment of interesting houses and structures. Here is a sampling, which I photographed sometimes from my moving bike, sometimes by actually getting off the bike and taking a minute or two.

20150921_0001nikcweb

20150922_0028nikcweb

20150922_0030nikc

20150925_0052nikcweb

20150925_0057nikcweb

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Along the Trail…

  1. Dave says:

    Cool stuff. I love the way the coke sign pops out in the first photo.

  2. elmediat says:

    Great sense of atmosphere in this sequence. :)

Leave a Reply

