“Missing…”


Lindbergh_Women_II_Layout_-copy-1542x1141photo by: Peter Lindbergh

Just a short aside. This is the kind of photo I am missing. It is by Peter Lindbergh from the current issue of W – I breath a sigh of relief. Too many times I find the photos in the current glossies without merit and totally over the top. I used to be able to look at photo spreads and pretty much tell who the photographer was. I can’t do that anymore [perhaps it’s just me]. The sense of style and personality that came through in a photographer’s work seems to be no more. Perhaps it was easier with film and without PS – I don’t know & I am not moaning about the disappearance of film – just the disappearance of substance.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, portrait and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “Missing…”

  1. Interesting. This is a recurring comment in music also.

  2. I’d agree with that sentiment

  3. Dave says:

    The only ones I recognize right off are done by Terry Richardson. His behavior disgusts me so much that I can’t enjoy the photos though. David Winters is immediately recognizable too.

  4. Ya, I used to be interested in Richardson’s work too, especially when he was using the T4 for some of his work, but then I was not aware of his disgusting behavior either.

  5. I’m a great fan of Peter Lindbergh’s and have some excellent books of his work.

Leave a Reply

