“WaterWomen Foldout…”


20150115_7432web

20150115_7431web

folderbrochurescreenshot

Finally I worked some more on my foldout booklet, the design of which I stole ‘fair & square’ from a Chanel  foldout that came with one of my Vanity Fair issues.

I am printing it on Arches Cover, which is one of my favorite papers for all kinds of projects. I find it impossible to do the layout totally ‘in my head’ and on the computer only, I have to hold something in my hand. The designers among you will smile – as a minimum – I know!

Anyhow, the component parts of it are in the top two photos. The third photo is a screen shot of what the pages look like in Photoshop. I have a devil of a time just trying to figure out which way to turn the piece of Arches paper in the printer so that both sides come out with the correct orientation.

It is also obvious from the above photos, which were done outside in open shade, that the Arches paper is quite a bit warmer than the inset pages which I am printing on 2 sided Red River Premium Matte. Looks like I will have to put in a background color that closely resembles the color of the Arches paper, if the whole thing is to look ok. The warm color of the Arches paper really varies greatly depending on the kind of light in which it is viewed.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, Artist's book, black & white, book, documentary, documentary, Florida, folio, photo book, photography, Southern Photography, waterwomen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “WaterWomen Foldout…”

  1. Dave says:

    Nice work, as always. I lack spatial visualization ability too, so, in your shoes, I’d have to do the same thing! lol

  2. That looks very good indeed. You picked a pretty cool source:)

Leave a Reply

