“My Cyanotype Process….”


advancedbwI have cleaned up my web page on the Cyanotype process. It still needs a few changes, but I think it is usable for anybody who wants to try their hand at making Cyanotypes. Making the requisite digital negatives that now go along with making most Cyanotype prints can be relatively simple and straight forward, or mind-numbingly complicated. I am trying to strike a middle ground with my instructions.

Peter Mrhar whose Cyanotype work I greatly admire, and who has been very generous in posting curves and other helpful material on his web site also has a book out title Easy Digital Negatives. I received my copy as a present and am working my way through it. It is wonderfully detailed, but I would strike the word EASY from the title  and instead use PERFECT as a more appropriate adjective. At this point I am not sure I will be able to wrap my mind around his instructions. Perhaps I will review the book once I have mastered some of the steps  he has outlined in it.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, cyanotype, digital negative and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “My Cyanotype Process….”

  1. bbylois says:

    well thank you chris , happy 2015 and 2016 in advance :)

  2. Lori M-I says:

    I really enjoy all of your posts. I just wanted to wish you all the best for 2015. Have a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

