“More Paper Negative Stuff….”


20141109_6928webThis is the TLR and a couple of the paper negatives I did two days ago. I think it is a great set up and interesting process. Of course not everybody is going to be able to work that way. It does, most of all, require easy access to a darkroom, which these days is harder and harder to come by. I am fortunate in that I can use our Arts Center’s darkroom which is in the middle of downtown. It is a way of making traditional b&w negatives without using film, and combining it with a scanner, printer and PS can lead to making large prints, even from small negatives. As I mentioned in a post below, right now I am using Arista Edu glossy RC enlarging paper for the negatives. I can easily get eight negatives from an 8×10 inch sheet of paper, so this is a pretty economical process. I guess if I were a bit more adventurous I could  glue together a roll/strip of enlarging paper and use it like a roll of 120 film, that way there would be no need to go back to the darkroom after every exposure.

I am greatly indebted to Django, a Berlin based photographer who does awesome paper negative portraits that are truly in a class by themselves. Seeing his work has inspired me greatly and I would highly recommend a visit to his tumblr site.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, film photography, paper negative, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “More Paper Negative Stuff….”

  1. Henry Thomas says:

    Very nice work. I have two questions : 1) have you tried harman positive photo paper 2) which iso setting are you using ? I currently used 5 ASA more or less for multigrade rc paper, and 3 or 4 for harman positive photo paper. I am curious about your findings.

    • Thank you Henry! No – I have never used positive paper – not sure why!? I have been making paper negatives for ages, but almost exclusively with my pinhole cameras. With those I never bothered to calibrate the f-stop of the pinhole, but am satisfied to do a trial and error to know approximately what kind of exposures lengths I need.

      Of course, when using a ‘real’ camera it makes more sense to figure out the ISO of the paper. As I mentioned in the posts, I have been using Arista Edu, glossy,mg, RC with the TLR, and there my ISO setting is about 20+ something – that really surprised me, I thought it would be lower.

      Now, I need to run a few more tests and also remember that I really have no idea, at this time, how accurate either the camera or the light meter settings are, after all these years.

      I think I want to try my other Yashica TLR and also my 35mm SLR. I think the 35mm should be fun to see how much that can be enlarged.

      Yesterday I did a contact print from one of the pinhole negatives one of the high school students in my workshop had made. Again I used the Arista Edu paper to make the positive and had a #3 filter in the enlarger. The print came out quite well, much better than I had anticipated..

Leave a Reply

