“I Stole The Concept…”


20141031_6850web…fair and square from a Chanel Jewelry ad piece that came with my Vanity Fair subscription. I thought it would make a perfect ‘companion piece’ to my WaterWomen article that is coming out in Liner Magazine. For the basic piece I used Arches Cover, about 10.7 inches high by 24 inches long. That neatly folds into a 10.7 by 7.8 inch brochure. I added a couple of pieces of two sided Red River Premium Matte, and so got ten pages on which to print images and text – quite a bit considering. Now, due to my fantastic ability to hold spatial relations in my head and lay out pages, the piece is just about totally messed up. I printed and assembled it anyhow so that I could hold something in my hand, while starting out all over with image and text placement. So, if you look closely, you will see some upside down text together with images that are in the wrong place. However, I am still totally pleased with how it all came out. The printing looks great on the Arches paper, and I love how the whole looks and feels – even if it doesn’t make sense at this point. Here are some more ‘quick & dirty’ snap shots I just took:

20141031_6853web20141031_6852web20141031_6851web20141031_6854web

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, Artist's book, black & white, cedar key, clam farming, documentary, film photography, Florida, folio, Made with Paper, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “I Stole The Concept…”

  1. Dave says:

    very cool!

    must not look. must not look!

Leave a Reply

