Taste of freedom: what the closure of the first Moscow McDonald’s means for Russia today…


LON88144_742_610

 

First McDonald’s in Moscow (1992). Photograph: Martin Parr/Magnum Photos

This reblog is totally off the subject for my blog. However, I think it is an extremely poignant story that needs to be paid attention to and its implications need to be understood by all of us.

I have written before about how wonderful I felt those years of early blogging and when photography sites and posts from almost all over the world appeared and there was a wonderful exchange of ideas and art and culture. I am still in awe of the fact that I had my work published in a Turkish design magazine and also in one of the big Russian photo publications.

By Mitya Kushelevich

“The opening of McDonald’s in Moscow in 1990 was a defining moment in the history of the Soviet Union, coming a year before its collapse. Mitya Kushelevich recalls his first-ever visit and explains why its shuttering matters…”

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taste of freedom: what the closure of the first Moscow McDonald’s means for Russia today…

  1. Such an eye opener…thanks Christian ….I retweeted it on my Twitter

  2. Hi Roger – thank you for your comment – it was encouraging to hear. I am just terribly sad and frustrated by what is going on. I think another curtain is descending! And there is lots of blame for it to go around.

Leave a Reply

