“The Print…”


20140829_6515web…is still ‘where it is’ for me. And no matter what dyed in the wool darkroom printers might say [I used to be one] I really do love making inkjet prints. My favorite paper is Museo Silver Rag, but at the moment it is a bit too pricey for me. So instead of coming close to that kind of paper/surface I went in the opposite direction and bought some matte fine art paper from Red River. Color management with Photoshop and the printer has never been my strong suite. After some initial failures and extensive correspondence with tech support at Red River I finally got my work-flow under control. Then my Epson R3000 printer was having problems with feeding the paper from the ‘sheet feed’ setting and I had to go the ‘front end – fine art’ route – it took me a while to figure that out correctly. I think I have it down now – so I made a borderless 13×19 inch print on Aurora Art Natural from my recent claming photos. It was made in jpg format with my little Sony Cybershot TX10. I am totally happy with the the print, shown above. It’s from a ‘quick & dirty’ snapshot & one can’t really correctly reproduce how the print looks this way, but I just wanted to pass on my experience with the process.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, clam farming, color photography, digital, documentary, Florida, Made with Paper, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

