“Our Landscape…”


20140811_6156webOn my bicycle ride this morning I had just crossed unto the mainland, and was on a short stretch of road I call The Spur. It is obvious to me that it is part of the 150 year old narrow gauge railroad track, the first cross Florida railroad connecting Cedar Key with St. Augustine. You can still see the occasional railroad spike sticking through the pavement. At that time of the morning it is a shady place, one where I slow down and have a good drink of water before heading out onto the shade-less part of the road. This layered cloud formation caught my eye and I got off my bicycle to make this photograph. On the way back I got soaked by a hellacious rainstorm, just as I left the mainland – sure kept me from overheating.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, bicycle, black & white, digital, Florida, landscape, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Our Landscape…”

  1. A fellow cyclist, the only way to really travel, it enables you to have these moments and I for one love them. This is wonderful

  2. Thanks! You are absolutely right – the only way to go – as long as you have decent places to ride!

  3. Dave says:

    love the dramatic skies!

Leave a Reply

