“Pleasant Surprise…”


20140808_6147web..with the Red River Aurora Art Natural I just received. I had ordered it based on the description of the paper and the reviews on the Red River website. I like matte, warm-toned paper. It is a taste that is not generally shared in the photo community – perhaps more so now than it used to be. When I was in grad school I was often razed about printing on textured, warm-tone Agfa paper. To me it was the look I grew up with and I just liked it much better than the cold, selenium toned look of Oriental Seagull paper that was then in vogue.
Of course the snapshot above can not really tell what the actual print looks like [and I can’t get rid of the slight red tone that has crept into the photo above]- however, I just wanted to pass on that I am really happy with the rich, warm feeling/look of this paper. Those of you who also like that look might want to check it out!

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in film photography, Florida, Made with Paper, photography, portrait, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Pleasant Surprise…”

  1. Dave says:

    Looks great! I think the warm tones make it timeless

  2. Good looking tones…is this a print from a digital image or from film?

  3. Hey Roger – thanks! It’s a print from a 35mm Neopan 1600 negative & the paper is a matte paper, printed using the MK black on my Epson printer.

Leave a Reply

