“My Bicycle…”


20140807_6143webSince I occasionally refer to my bicycle rides, I thought I aught to write about it a bit. The above is a ‘quick & dirty’ snapshot of my bicycle in its spot on our carport. It is a Fuji Sagres I bought about fourteen years ago. I think the price was $375.00 – a lot more than I had ever paid for a bicycle before. It was on sale, somebody had special ordered it and then never picked it up. At my wife’s urging I took it for a spin, and was totally smitten with it. I think what impressed me the most was that the brakes worked so well that when I applied them, I almost went over the handle bars – something I had never experienced with any of my previous bicycles. It also just seemed to fit me right. I am 6’3″ and it has a 23 inch frame, I had never ridden one that big. The derailleur is a Shimano C201 3/7. Never had that meany gears before, and for the way I ride and where I ride it is a bit of an overkill. It has quick release front and rear hubs as well as a quick release seat-post, which I guess can be a liability in urban riding [it is easy to steal] but which I really like for easy seat adjustment. One thing I would never want to be without is the articulated stem. So not only can I adjust the height of the handlebar [all bicycles can do that] but I can move it closer or further away, and in addition I can rotate it – so there are three ways to adjust it.

The remarkable thing with this bike is that in the time I have had it, I have made no repairs on it, other than tires and tubes. Oh, I did buy a new $22.00 Velo saddle the other day to replace the previous one which had started to wear out from being rubbed against/dropped [unintentionally] several times on sharp objects. I am delighted with the saddle, it is the most comfortable one I have ever owned. I realize that bicycle saddles are a bit like cameras, ten people will have twenty different opinions on the subject.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in bicycle and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

