“Simple Framing…”


20140713_5822webTrying to figure out how to frame/display my prints for the upcoming exhibit, I am once again experimenting with Format Frames. This is a 12 x 16 inch one I bought at a ‘Big Box’ store for about $5.00. The traditional framer in me shudders about using cheap frames with no mat. However I have to take into consideration the significant cost I would incur if I framed a couple of dozen prints the way I used to, and be stuck with them once the exhibit closes. I actually like the slim profile of these frames and the fact that they come with real glass. One problem with them is that they are very fragile, and often I discover that they are damaged at the corners, after I get them home. It’s the kind of damage that is almost invisible while they are still in their shrink wrap. However, at this price, I can accept that. I don’t think there is enough space in the frame to exhibit a mounted and matted print. I will find out, I ordered one 16×20 frame to try and see if I can get it to accept my mounted/matted silver gelatin print photos. In the meantime, I am pretty happy with the look I get this way. By the way, I cut a piece of 13×19 inkjet paper to 12×16 inches prior to printing this photo of my friend Diana pulling a bag of clams from her lease.

20140713_5824web

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, cedar key, cedar key photography, clam farming, documentary, film photography, Florida, Made with Paper, photography, Southern Photography, waterwomen and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Simple Framing…”

  1. cyardin says:

    Frames are so expensive, I think that sometimes you have to weigh up the cost vs benefit. For a cheap frame it looks pretty good and the colour complements the photo well.

  2. tigerclaws says:

    Thank you SO much! I am cursed with a “rich taste syndrome” (as my mother calls it), things that my eyes set on, usually come with a high price tag!

    But this, is such a deal… really hard to beat – if at all. How is the overall “feel” of the frame? Is it flimsy/sloppy? Does it hold the photograph firmly?

    Please let me know… thanks!

  3. Hey thanks for your note. As fragile and flimsy as the frames are, because there is real glass, and as long as you only put the print in – without a mat – it looks quite good. Just be very careful how you get the glass out to insert the print. I press it gently from the back from each corner and then work the glass out, put the print in and then CAREFULLY push the glass back in at the corners. It generally is at the corners that the black plastic of the frames will break, or will be broken when you buy them. Because each frame is shrink wrapped it is often impossible to tell that the corners are broken. Sounds pretty complicated, but really is not. – Holds the print in perfectly. They also come in smaller seizes, I think a 4×6 frame is about $1.00 [I really like those.] So you can practice at something very inexpensive, and see if you like them.

Leave a Reply

