Video: Richard Tuschman on Hopper Meditations



I have always been a fan of Hopper’s work and as a photographer contemplated on somehow making Hopper like images photographically. My ideas was/is to not ‘rephotograph’ his work but to use his sense of light and color and the ‘atmosphere’ in his paintings and translate them into contemporary photographs. Well, I neither have the color sense nor the models to really work on that. So, I have been interested in photographers who have dealt with Hopper’s work in their own photography. I know of several who are doing it, and just ran across this video of Richard Tuschman’s work. Honestly, I don’t know what to make of it. However, I found it interesting and thought that those of you who like Hopper and are photographers might find this interesting too.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Video: Richard Tuschman on Hopper Meditations

  1. I love Hopper but I’m not sure about these. It looks to me like he’s using the medium as an excuse. Photographs like paintings and paintings like photographs seem better suited to the fun fair freaks show…I’m not convinced either.

Leave a Reply

