“THE WAY WE WORKED…”


950501-19web
950501-20nikweb

950501-15nikweb
I have been invited to participate in an upcoming show. It will be titled The Way We Worked and will be organized and presented by the Cedar Key Arts Center in conjunction with the Smithsonian Institute and Florida Council On Arts and Culture. The above photos I just printed for a friend will surely be part of my portion of the exhibit. I’ll have about 22 feet of wall space, and right now I am trying to decide what to include and how to present it. After the exhibit goes up in September I will post some snapshots of it.

[These photos were made with my manual SLR on Fuji Neopan 1600]

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, cedar key, cedar key photography, documentary, film photography, fl 32625, Florida, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “THE WAY WE WORKED…”

  1. Jorge Munoz says:

    I like the moods in these photos; very nice captures

  2. Look forward to seeing what you include and the presentation. Nice series of images Christian, especially the bird in search of some lunch!

    • Thank you Simon – that negative is a bear to print because of the huge contrast between the interior and exterior – I can barely get an acceptable print out of it. However it, and the other two photos are historically very significant because they were taken the day before the fish-house closed because of the coming net ban, which killed the small boat fishing tradition in this town.

  3. I’d nearly forgotten that look :)

    • Ya, it does look differently – my use of Neopan 1600 did not ‘help’ either. In retrospect it was not such a bad idea as it does give the prints a different look now that was not that evident at the time.
      I bet your Tri-X at what? – 1600 looks pretty wild now too! :)

Leave a Reply

