Helena Christensen & Portrait Photographer Mary Ellen Mark



I ran across this video on Daniel Milnor’s blog SmogRanch [which is one of the most intelligent and readable blogs on photography out there] and felt it would be worthwhile reblogging it.

Here is what David has to say about the video:

This is worth checking out. There are SO MANY subtle cues in this film I lost count after about twenty-five. I don’t know much about Helena, other than knowing her as a model, but she’s got some super solid work and probably knows as much about BEING photographed as any human on the planet. The other two are rightly considered legends. Oh ya, notice the prints….. Also notice the length…yes, this is an adult conversation.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, documentary, photography, portrait and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Helena Christensen & Portrait Photographer Mary Ellen Mark

  1. Thanks for posting this, what an inspiriting conversation. I’m shooting film again, after waffling all over the place for six months. Feels good.

    • Hi Monica – thanks for the feed-back! I always feel a bit like a wus reblogging stuff, but when I run across these videos, I just can’t resist. I am delighted to hear from you. I have been on the verge of writing you, and should have. I was concerned about your ‘absence’ and missed your presence here.
      Congratulations on going back to film. I am without darkroom access and will probably stick mostly to digital. My out is converting the digital to Cyanotypes.

      • That is a great video! I ended up watching a few others in the series. My absence has been a combo of creative frustration and distraction, but I’m getting my ducks in a row to start posting again. I don’t have a print darkroom right now, so I got a neg scanner, and at least now I can see what I’ve developed properly, and can start posting images, although I’m not thrilled with spending so much time in front of my computer. I’d rather be splashing around in chemicals!

Leave a Reply

