“Old Air Boats Never Die…”


20140311_5195niktmweb…they just get recycled into boats for clam farming. I made this exposure this morning on the homeward leg of my bicycle ride. I go by here every day, but this morning the light was just a bit more interesting then usual, so I decided to stop. Once I did that and ‘looked’ I was also taken by the symbolism evident in this view. The cedar, oak and palm trees in the background are a good representation of the area’s vegetation. The Blue Desert Cafe  is a throw-back to the days when Outside Magazine referred to the town as the place where ‘it takes two hours to watch 60 Minutes. It is also a reminder that we don’t have a single chain restaurant in town. The Blue Desert itself was recycled from a family home into the restaurant. – If you look closely at my previous post, you will see that this is just down the road from where I took the bird-dog photo.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, cedar key, clam farming, digital, fl 32625, Florida, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Old Air Boats Never Die…”

  1. Such a good feel about that picture..and the words

  2. Thank you Roger – I am glad you feel that way!

Leave a Reply

