“William Eggleston at the Tate…”



Here is a current video about William Eggleston’s exhibit at the Tate. Eggeleston influence on American fine art color photography is enormous, and I am always interested in seeing his work and news about it. I am saying this although I feel I often ‘don’t get’ his work, and am much more taken with William Christenberry‘s and Birney Imes‘s work when it comes to ‘southern color’ photography.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, color photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “William Eggleston at the Tate…”

  1. I’d never heard of Christenberry or Imes before. Just checked them out and I’m very impressed with Birney Ime’s.

    • Yes, I too really like his stuff. I was fortunate enough to see him present his Juke Joint portfolio at an SPE conference. He also seemed like an extremely calm and kind individual. To me, Christenberry – in the history of photography – really has not received nearly the recognition he deserves…….

Leave a Reply

