“It Is On The Way….”


CaptureI am eagerly awaiting the arrival of Burholder‘s Inkjet Negative Companion DVD.  As those of you who have been following my Cyanotype exploits know, I have been using Burkholder’s Color Table method to make my digital negatives. I have gotten to the point where I am pretty good at making the negatives, and getting good looking Cyanotype prints. However, I have never totally “nailed the process’ although I’ve read all the books and articles that I could get my hands on. None of them have been as clear to me as Burkholder’s original book.

This new DVD promises to have templates that will work with my computer/printer combination. I will let you know how it works out.. My limitations this time around are that that I only have an 8×10 inch printing frame. Somebody ‘liberated’ my 16×20 frame several years ago, and those things are too expensive to easily replace. I also will have to rely on sunlight exposures, which around here usually is no problem, although so far we have had a pretty cloudy and overcast winter. However, as I have said in a previous post, I am ready to get started – let the printing begin! :)

 

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, cyanotype, digital, digital negative, Made with Paper, photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “It Is On The Way….”

  1. muggs828 says:

    Hey Christian,
    I ordered and downloaded Dan’s PDF book and TinyTutorials videos a little while ago. As I haven’t made a cyanotype print yet (waiting on my “face tanner” UV source from eBay now), I have read the PDF several times already. Dan makes things abundantly clear, and spells out every aspect of the process. I can’t wait to get to printing myself. As for your cyanotype, I don’t see how they could improve, but I’m looking forward to seeing the results!

Leave a Reply

