“Frames…”


20120807_0835webI know I have written about this before, but since I am running into a framing/hanging problem again, I thought it would be worthwhile to mention it again. There is no question that I really like big prints, and I was in ‘pigs heaven’ when I could make some of my prints on an Epson 9900 printer, about 2×3 feet, like the ones below, However, they are still sitting around in my portfolio folder, while the ones printed 4×6 inches are up in frames like the ones on the right.

These frames are very simple and cheap 4×6 inch Format Frames, sometimes available in ‘big box’ stores for a buck a piece. While I have my own mat cutter and have done my own framing and matting for years, there comes a time when one runs out of wall space. This is when I resorted to framing some of my work this way, without a window mat, which I thought I would never do, simply ‘slapped’ behind glass. These frames come in larger seizes too, however they are very delicate and the larger the frame, the easier it is to break one. I like the idea of being able to display a relatively large number of prints in a relatively small space, and still have the display look decent.20120807_0840web

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

