“Godly Men…”


20140205_5094web Yesterday we had to make the 300 mile round trip to Tallahassee. As expected there were far fewer Confederate flags and nutty signs up alongside the highway than prior to the presidential election. Only one Confederate flag was hanging limply from a flag pole, with the halyard obviously in need of repair. I must confess that, encountering the nutty signs, I realized that I am seriously deficient in the cultural, linguistic and religious Zeitgeist of this area of Florida, although I live here. Somehow I think the above sign has a political as well as religious message, while I do think that the sign below is strictly a religious statement, the significance of which I am totally unaware of. So much for my education.

20140205_5093web

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in 19/98, art, black & white, documentary, Florida, Florida Highways, highway culture, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

