“Low Tide & Fog…”


20140201_4957nikcweb This morning started out with a glorious fog, and then Wyeth called me on her way out of town to say that the tide was spectacularly low. Reason enough for me to plan and go out there with tripod and camera and try to do some gentle HDR fog photographs. HOWEVER, when I went to grab my camera, it was not there. I distinctly remembered putting it back on the shelf after taking photos of a couple of my books three days ago. Well, if it is not there its got to be somewhere around the house. Nope – still have not been able to find it. As far as I can see there are only two possibilities a) my mind is slipping and I totally miss-remembered what I have done with the camera or b) there is a Canon G10 midnight burglar prowling the neighborhood. Neither one a very comforting thought. Or perhaps we have some paranormal activities going on around here. We live after-all right behind the cemetery. I probably should try and get Mulder and Scully in on this, but on second thought, I think Mulder is tied up right now with Californication. Not sure what Scully is up to these days.

Anyhow, I had to do without my G10 and grabbed my Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-TX10 instead, jumped on my bicycle and rode over to Number 4 where I managed this photograph of some commercial clamers going out in an air-boat. Usually I do not photograph airboats – on principle – but I could not let this one get away, or there would simply be no dimension to my fog photograph. Of course, by the time I got there, the tide had already come in quite a bit. However I am happy with my fog’n water photo.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, cedar key, cedar key photography, clam farming, color photography, digital, documentary, fl 32625, landscape, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Low Tide & Fog…”

  1. cecilia says:

    great shot. i regularly lose my camera, it is not small either, I sigh when i go to download the work at the end of the day and then have to take a torch and go back through the barn and then around the fences, I often perch it on a fence post when I get busy, or on a ledge in the barn.. then get distracted, hope you find yours soon, it is not on top of the tripod in the corner is it? c

    • Thanks so much for your comforting words Cecilia! I was right, minutes after my wife returned home the camera was found, after I had been looking for it all day. It was all THE CATS fault. She had apparently knocked it off a seven foot high shelf the previous evening. We all heard the thump but could not figure out what had happened. It landed between some books and stuff on the floor, and I notoriously don’t ‘see the floor.’ Miraculously the camera was totally unharmed. It was in a plastic Hefty bag with its instruction manual, and must have landed ‘just right.’

  2. Dave says:

    Congrats on this awesome photo! I love shooting in the fog too.

  3. Such a good looking picture. It’s so reminiscent of the oyster boats in Marennes Oleron. The best camera is the one that you have with you:)

Leave a Reply

