“Charlotte Rampling: The Look…”


rampling Last night I stumbled up this “unconventional self-portrait” documentary about the actress and model Charlotte Rampling. Any of you who are as passionate as I am about doing people/portrait photography might enjoy this tremendously, other not so. As one reviewer put it: “This is essentially a meditation on aging and beauty from a very eloquent and beautiful person. Rampling has quietly managed to negotiate a career onscreen as an older woman without compromising herself much at all as an artist, a miraculous feat in our culture. It gives her a perspective that very few people might have, and she’s able to talk quite easily and thoughtfully about it.” A friend gave me a Kindle Fire a while back, and for me this is the perfect movie to watch on it, tucked into a comfortable chair, enjoying the warmth of the wood stove and contemplation photography projects to come.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, photography, portrait and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Charlotte Rampling: The Look…”

  1. cecilia says:

    indeed.. c

    On Mon, Jan 20, 2014 at 10:37 AM, christian harkness – photo blog wrote:

    > christian harkness posted: ” Last night I stumbled up this > “unconventional self-portrait” documentary about the actress and model > Charlotte Rampling. Any of you who are as passionate as I am about doing > people/portrait photography might enjoy this tremendously, other not so. As > one “

  2. She is amongst the people that I have always admired for how they are and how they live….and she is very beautiful.

  3. Thank you Roger. If you have not seen it, I hope you get a chance to. The film raises some interesting points and it does it in a way that I don’t see much very often. It made me think and appreciate the work that went into making it. I still do not get Juergen Teller’s work and think it is crap, photographically and art wise. However, every time I see/read an interview with him, I find him interesting, fascinating and reasonable. So, perhaps my ‘tent’ isn’t big enough, although I think I keep expanding it. And ‘The Night Porter’ continues to be a most disturbing and problematic film for me, but perhaps that is is very good thing.

Leave a Reply

