“Finally Finished…”


20130828_4017nikcweb…the Japanese Stab Binding book I talked about in a previous post. I used the videos referenced in the post to make my 8.5 x 11 inch book, using Arches Cover, black for the cover paper and Red River’s Premium Matte 2 Sided inkjet paper for the images and text.Usually I like using Arches Cover, white for that, but I no longer have a custom icc profile for that paper. That went away when I switched to the Epson R3000 printer.
The hardest and most frustrating part of the whole process was getting all my tools and materials together – but now I have them, and so this was a good exercise.

20130828_4013nikcwebI used an electric drill to make the holes for the waxed linen thread I used. I guess I could also have used an awl, but I think this made it easier and also gave me cleaner holes.

How to make the stitches is very well explained in the video. Next time around I can probably do it without having to look at it every few seconds. It is pretty straight forward.20130828_4014nikcwebI ‘only’ made one ‘wonderful’ mistake, and that was to bind one of the pages in backwards, oh well. I guess this volume won’t go on any exhibition. My main reason for posting this is to hopefully ‘rope’ some of you into trying this. I think it is a great way to have a portfolio or suite of photos or other two dimensional art in one place.

20130828_4016nikcweb

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, Artist's book, black & white, book, cedar key, cedar key photography, fl 32625, Florida, paper negative, photography, pinhole, Santa Barbara Pinhole Camera, slow exposure, Southern Photography, studio 1 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Finally Finished…”

  1. Dave says:

    That looks awesome!
    You probably shouldn’t keep something defective like that around. Maybe you should just send it to me, so you don’t have to look at it any more. :}

    I started a film group on FB by sending a bunch of disposable cameras to friends and giving them the assignment to shoot their world. We followed up with some other projects too. What i said they should try next is to pull together their 20 favorite images of the last year and get at least one of them printed, or better yet, all of them, even if its just as 4x6s. There’s a magic to a print we don’t get that often anymore, most photos are posted to FB or maybe a website then lost in some folders on our hard drives.
    I wanted to do the assignment myself since I just noticed something the other day about what I like and don’t like, and therefore need to shoot more of, while avoiding what I don’t necessarily want to print and show. I’m going to ask them if they see any patterns in their selections next…I plan to suggest they get them printed into a Blurb book too.

    My point for now being “there’s magic in printing” and, of course, you’re living it.

  2. drawandshoot says:

    That looks really great, Christian! Hmmm…

Leave a Reply

