“From The Archives…”


mural2nikweb Three of my silver gelatin mural prints made from 35mm Neopan 1600 negatives. I used to be able to do about two of these in an afternoon. I had bought a large diameter PVC tube with caps on both ends, and after exposing the print on the wall, opposite the enlarger, I would roll it up and then pour in the appropriate chemistry, cap the end of the tube and roll it around for a few minutes, and then I would unroll the prints in a large stainless steel sink, pour the chemistry over it and work it into the print with a large sponge.Nothing to it – ha! Now all one has to do is find an Epson 9900 printer or equivalent. I am not sure I still have the stamina and patience to produce one of these the ‘old fashioned’ way, even if I had the facilities.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, film photography, Florida, photography, portrait and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “From The Archives…”

  1. cecilia says:

    wow, love the scale.. c

  2. simon0252 says:

    Impressive looking prints and process used to create them. I’m still working with 5 x 8 inch platinum prints but would love to print something as large as these!

    • Wow, would that not be fun! When I had access to the Epson 9900 printer, I helped one of the professors print a couple of pieces on clear film. I started thinking what wonderful Cyanotypes one could do with big negatives like that. The roll was 46 inches wide. Of course then one would need a sheet of glass big enough…………and the list goes one! :)

  3. very cool looking prints!

  4. drawandshoot says:

    Those are huge. What an impact they make!

Leave a Reply

