“It’s A Start…”


20130721_3852webThere is always a huge lag time between the time I decide to do a project, and the time when I start on it. And then of course, there is more lag time before I arrive at the finish. So, in order to speed things up a bit, I am ‘going public’ with my plans to make a Japanese Stitch Binding photo book. For the project I selected about a dozen images from my pinhole camera, paper negative portfolio Every House On The North Side of Second Street. I printed them on 32 lb, 8.5 x 11 inch Red River Premium Matte, 2 sided paper. I really like to print on Arches Cover for this kind of project, but when my Epson 2400 died, with it went the custom icc profile for Arches paper, and I have not been able to get the same quality of prints on Arches using my Epson 3000. So, I decided to use the Red River paper. Usually I do not like to use light weight paper, but I think for book projects their 32 lb. Premium Matte paper is pretty good, although I would prefer a warmer paper. – I had my mind set on using interleaven

20130725_3826webpaper and thought I had some 8×10 inch sheets of it. However, I found that I only had 8.5 x 11 inch Renaissance Paper from Light Impressions. Since I did not want to order more ‘stuff’ to make the book, I went ahead with the larger paper, but do think that I would like the smaller, 8×10 inch sheets better. For one thing it would be easier to position them so that they do not protrude from any edges of the book.  Using

20130725_3827weblittle dabs of PVA glue, I fastened a sheet to the left side of each print and put all the pages into my little handmade book press. My next step is to finish all the pages of the book, make the cover, probably from Arches Cover paper, and then drill the holes for stitching, and sew the whole thing together. I will let you know how it turns out.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, Artist's book, black & white, book, cedar key, cedar key photography, fl 32625, Florida, paper negative, photography, Santa Barbara Pinhole Camera, slow exposure, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “It’s A Start…”

  1. The book press looks clever. I might and try and make something similar. Nice idea, the book.

  2. drawandshoot says:

    That will be beautiful, Christian. Printing is such an art isn’t it? (I am still using an Epson 2200 but at some point I would like to upgrade!)

    • Hi Karen, many thanks for your supportive comments – I really do appreciate it.
      We will be moving and I will probably be not fully ‘up & running’ again till the middle of August. So, please excuse my for not commenting and posting!

  3. simon0252 says:

    Good to see this project in progress. ‘Every House On The North Side Of Second Street’ is a great portfolio. Looking forward to seeing the dozen images you’ve selected, presented in book form.

    • Thank you so much Simon for your encouragement! We will be moving in about a week or so – thus I will drastically slow down in commenting and posting. It will probably be the middle of August before I get back up to speed!

  4. Inspiring! Makes me want to give book making a whirl!

    • I think it is very rewarding, and now there are some great youtube videos out on the techniques. Used to have to do with books, and they were good, but a good video sure helps.
      Unfortunately we are in the process of getting ready to move and so this will have to go on the ‘back-burner.’

Leave a Reply

