“Fifty Shades of Green…”


20130504_0972nikcweb …just kidding. You are probably wondering why I am posting these photos, or more seriously, why do I think they are worth posting, and why do they appeal to me. Tongue in cheek they are a bit like Seinfeld – they are about Nothing.

I do have a serious question. I ran across a ‘call for entry’ that was looking for street photography. Hmm…I almost NEVER respond to these things, especially when they want money to look at the submission. However it raised the question in my mind as to whether or not my 19/98 project could come under the category of ‘street photography.’  At first glance, I would say no, but on second thought it occurred to me that in this country 95 percent of what happens on the ‘street’ involves vehicles and driving, and most small towns  around here have, what I would call highways, run right through the middle of them. So…..

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, color photography, digital, documentary, Florida, Florida Highways, highway culture, landscape, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Fifty Shades of Green…”

  1. stefan900 says:

    Reblogged this on Glass Eyes View and commented:
    You have very nice blog. I will follow it, visit my blog as well if you wish :)

  2. This photo looks “street” to me.
    I’d say go for it!

  3. We just don’t have trucks like that here. Makes me think of “Duel”.

    • What I was trying to photograph were the gigantic ‘rooster tails’ these big truck were creating as they went down the highway in the rain. Never quite got the timing right, and when I almost went off the road photographing, I wisely stopped.

Leave a Reply

