“Todd Hido – “Excerpt from Silver Meadows…”


I think this is my second Todd Hido post. I do find his work interesting and what he says resonates with me. There are still too many you know in his presentation, but if you do this kind of photo work, I think you will get something out of it. I found this video on the ASX website.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, color photography, digital, documentary and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Todd Hido – “Excerpt from Silver Meadows…”

  1. Interesting. However, I’ve yet to believe complicated explanations of work. I’m interested in my view of the work. If the artist hasn’t shown me what it’s about, he hasn’t done it……………..for me.

    • Oh, absolutely – and that is what drives me absolutely insane about some ‘conceptual’ photography & art. You can’t figure out what is going on without some ten page incomprehensible dissertation.
      I do like a lot of Hido’s work – I am not so sure about his TV shots in this one. But I appreciate his explanation about his ‘documentary’ work. I think there is much prejudice out there against ‘documentary’ work in which the style varies, and where there is a mix of color & B&W and so on. So, I did enjoy this video.

  2. Admin Todd Hido Studio says:

    Hello–A note to clarify–the TV shots in this video are not Todd Hido’s work.
    They are inserted by the video maker as a creative choice to illustrate her “read” on the commentary. Thank you for sharing the video.

  3. Thanks for the note and it is great to hear form you & thanks for the clarification. I really appreciate the videos and hope Todd continues doing them. No matter what mine or anybody else’s comments say, we -in the ‘hinterland’ – need this kind of ‘dialog’ and communication from the artist. It tremendously enriches my world – again, many thanks!

Leave a Reply

