“Why We Photograph…”


Todd Hido from Pier 24 Photography on Vimeo.

Over the years I have found the work of Todd Hido very interesting. In this short video he talks about his night photographs of houses, and why he photographs. Other than using ‘you know’ a bit too often, this is an interesting video – even if you don’t care for his work. A while back I ran across a video in which he talked about photographing his ‘motel nudes’. I have been searching for that, but so far have not been able to find it. If I find it, I will post it  – it might lead to some interesting discussions.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, book, color photography, film photography, photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Why We Photograph…”

  1. bbylois says:

    the story about the book presentation vrs wall expositions was indeed interesting. Although he says ” I am a observer’ rather then a creator is not correct. He still creates of what he would like to observe.

    Last week I entered a gallery in Brussels and you know what ? Instead of presenting photographs on the gallery’s walls , the collection was presented via a book , just one book, just the book. That I liked and I find more attractive.

    • I find being able to hold photos in ones hand is very appealing. When I had my MFA exhibit, I had big mural size prints on the wall, but I also had my portfolio out on a table, and that portfolio drew a LOT more interest than the photos on the wall. So, that says something!

Leave a Reply

