“Good Friday…”


rvn1966clhA post over on Roger’s blog prompted me to reflect on what he said, and to chime in with my own comment. Basically Roger lamented the fact that Christianity and the world had  learned very little from the sacrifice that we are commemorating on this day. I noted that this day was very special to me on a personal level, since thirty-six years ago I was engaged in a running battle between my Marine Corps infantry company, and North Viet-Namese Army units around the Viet-Namese DMZ. I came out of it without a scratch, many others did not. Over the years I had so much hope that we all would learn from our mistakes there. When the Berlin Wall came down and the Soviet Union collapsed I was ecstatic and thought common sense would prevail henceforth. Goes to show what an idiot I was/am.

That idealistic young guy on the left is me.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Good Friday…”

  1. simon0252 says:

    Yes, Christian, will we ever learn to embrace peace? I’m pleased you came out of that conflict alive.

  2. bbylois says:

    Christian, My respect. I can not fully cope with your emotions because I was not taken part of this event; You and others were. Although , nowadays we are in a dirty battle to. It kills the inner of many among us . Sometimes I do see scarfs or are they mine.? I am aware but not be aware of this all the time.

  3. I think the mistake is in believing that humans are intrinsically good. We have to work at being good, and a lot of humanity appears to be work shy.

Leave a Reply

