“The Hammock…”


20130222_2321nikweb I am never going to become a full fledged nature photographer. However this morning I encountered several of these spider web ‘nests’. It was bordering on being foggy outside, with mist and dew about, and threatening to rain. So the subdued quality of the light plus the humidity really made these webs visible. I thought they would look interesting in color, but found that the black and white version is much more to my liking. I continue to be blown away by the quality of the photos my little Sony produces. On my screen the image looks darker in the corners than it does in Photoshop, but I let it go – since I really don’t have any idea as to what it will look like on other screens.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, digital, Florida, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “The Hammock…”

  1. janaobscura says:

    So delicate and lovely! The spider web pops out from the background.

  2. bbylois says:

    Christian , you were at the scenery and you captures that moment and only this moment . Some moments after ,it was gone forever and nobody has noticed it. So according me , this is pure and so you. Without reading your comment first , I understood the story and it pricked me and therefore this image is a true success. I believe ‘like’ in terms of ‘recognized’ is not correct and not respectful for your work. I believe people should take more time to look to such images ,The composition is perfect chosen and the exposure nice done. There is enough details in the shadows . What i do not agree is the B & W.?? on my screen I see some sepia , vintage look in the highlights. About being not a nature photographer, bless you :) you are not ). You are to me A photographer without trapped in some meaningless basket. If you communicate with us with such lovely kind of stories , I do hope you will not become a nature photographer :) . Maybe i am too open, but this work deserved to look at and keep on looking at instead of ‘like’ and scroll further to next one. However , I press the like button :) but only to keep this image in my list, to look at . Thx bart

    • Hi Bart!

      First of all thank you so very much for your thoughtful and generous response to my photo. As you noted, it is not the kind of response one gets much these days. When I first started posting my photos on the web – back before the widespread use of digital cameras, those of us who were posting, were for the most part, posting scans of prints we had made ourselves, in the darkroom. And then it was pretty common for reactions to posted work to be thoughtful and thorough. As more and more photos were being posted, and as digital cameras prevailed [I am not at all anti digital cameras!!!] the comments and remarks became shorter and shorter. When they started being mostly ‘Nice Capture!’ I was beginning to start throwing up. So now we have ‘progressed’ to the ‘Like’ button. I must confess that I prefer that to ‘nice capture’ any day. I think it is just a fact of life, and one that I am willing to live with, especially if every once in a ‘blue moon’ I receive a thoughtful comment. However I must confess of course, that I am just as guilty as the next person of being lazy and making short, sometimes flippant, comments to work that deserves a much more in-depth response.

      About the ‘black & white.’ You are right, the image is toned, but that generally still falls under black and white. I always toned my gelatin silver prints, but they were/are still considered b&w. I guess it is just a matter of semantics. They certainly are not color prints.

      So, I greatly appreciate your thoughtfulness and your taking the time to convey your reaction to the photo to me. However, please don’t worry, I will not be insulted by a ‘Like.’ With best wishes – christian

  3. MilindaC says:

    I love this!!

  4. tigerclaws says:

    Awesome find dude.. and nicely captured!

  5. drawandshoot says:

    That’s wonderful, such a gentle tension.

Leave a Reply

