Duane Michals


Duane Michals, The Man Who Invented Himself from gordon spooner on Vimeo.

This is an absolutely delightful video – trust me!

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Duane Michals

  1. The American photographers were my earliest and most important influences. Along with Duane Michals were Diane Arbus, Saul Leiter, Melvin Sokolsky, Howard Zieff and, of course, Avedon and Penn. Charming video saying so many things that photographers need to understand.

  2. So many thanks Roger. I love your list which is much more eclectic than mine which ran more towards W. Eugene Smith, and David Douglas Duncan. It was not till quite a bit later that my eyes opened and then my list became very broad. I really appreciate that you enjoyed the video. My wife is a real fan of Michals, and I was pleased to be able to show it to her.

  3. andybeel says:

    Hi Christian

    Long time no speak, I found this video really interesting. I was enthralled when he went to the steelworks I presume in Pittsburgh as as you know this is where our hero Mr Smith worked.

    There are a few unknown names to me here amongst these 2 comments and I will be checking them out later. One the joys of the Internet is that you can instantly investigate someone else’s style and how you think it relates to yours.

    You might be interested in the pictures I put on the following website
    as I know that you’ve also been invited to display your work there. The invitation came out of the blue and I was quite flattered to be invited. There are of very few of us limeys on that website and of the ones who are doing straight or creative photography, they are all very well thought of in this country. Hence why I was so pleased to be asked, shall we say.

    Keep up the goodwork, Andy

  4. andybeel says:

    For some reason the link in my last post did not appear so I will try again http://www.fotocepelak.cz/hoste/galerie599/

  5. Hi Andy – it is so great to hear from you! However, just because you have not heard from me does not mean I have not been following your work. I am absolutely delighted to see your work so well featured on the Czech photo site – it is absolutely stunning, and intelligent.
    Yes, I think it is Pittsburgh! May we all be that witty and spry at that age!

  6. That Duane! Like a naughty child. Love him.

Leave a Reply

