“The Paperboy…”


I don’t know how many of you follow the movies, but if you do, you will know that one of the recently released ones is The Paperboy. Wikipidia describes it as “…a 2012 film starring Matthew McConaughey, Zac Efron, John Cusack and Nicole Kidman. Directed by Lee Daniels, it is based on the 1995 novel The Paperboy by American author Pete Dexter. The film competed for the Palme d’Or at the 2012 Cannes Film Festival….” It is about a reporter “…returning to his Florida hometown to investigate a case involving a death row inmate…” The novel came out shortly after I had done a series of photographs in a small Florida Panhandle town called Blountstown. Which is where the novel is set. Of course I immediately got a copy of it once I had found out about it. At first I was fascinated by the book, and then I stopped reading it because, if I remember correctly, I felt it was so dripping with exaggerated negative Southern stereotypes that I just could not stand it. Anyhow, if you go see the movie, here is a real photo from the town in which it takes place.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in black & white, book, film photography, photography, portrait, Southern Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “The Paperboy…”

  1. Great picture, Christian, but if that isn’t a Southern stereotypical “good ole boy” I’ll eat my…..I don’t wear a hat, so.whatever I wouldn’t normally eat. Exaggerated and negative on top of that would make me put the book down too.

    • :) – oh sure, and there was lots of that around – I would hope that the totality of the photos I took there was a bit more balanced. I think there is always a ‘tipping point’ with that kind of work.

  2. simon0252 says:

    Great connection and a marvellous photo, Christian.

Leave a Reply

