“Vote Chambers For Change…”


I seldom stop the car and get out when doing my ‘highway photos. However, this time I made an exception, because this building truly gets to me, and I don’t quite know why. To be sure it is depressing and ugly. I think I was really fascinated with the black and yellow campaign sign in front of it, the colors of which made the whole scene seem even more surreal. Why anybody would want to put a campaign sign in such an unappealing place is a mystery to me. The building has been in this location, looking like this, for decades. So, the request to ‘vote for change’ can have nothing to do with the condition of this area. Right next to this structure is a shell of a motel.

And to the right of the first building, things look like this.  And then, I continue to be puzzled by my making this kind of ‘New Topographics’ photo – I guess I have to realize I have expanded into a different direction with my work. Here is a wonderfully spirited explanation and defense of the genre by Catherine Ropie:

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in 19/98, art, black & white, Blurb Book 19/98, digital, documentary, Florida, highway culture, landscape, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Vote Chambers For Change…”

  1. I think both pictures are wonderful. I’m afraid Catherine’s defence made me mute the computer. The pictures do the talking:)

    • Well, many thanks Roger!! It just goes to show that one can come to photos from so many different directions – and that is great! Now, for the garlic, I am panicking, ’cause I am just about to run out of it and need some to make my version of Eggplant Parmesan tonight – cheers -c-

Leave a Reply

