“Breakfast at Annie’s…”


This Saturday morning our kitchen counter was undergoing some repair. The sink was gone as were the drawers, shelves and doors. So I decided that was as good an excuse as any to go out and have breakfast at Annie’s. It is actually owned and operated by Glenda, but named in honor of her grandmother. – I love the place. It is the only really local, Cedar Key restaurant left, and Glenda keeps it like the restaurants used to be. It is screened and not air conditioned. There is an enclosed eating area, a screened porch, and an open deck. During the summer I usually eat on the screened porch, in the fall and spring on the open deck, and in the winter, when it is cold, in the enclosed area, as close to the electric heater as I can get. Sitting on the porch Saturday felt very nostalgic. When I first came to Cedar Key, we did not use air conditioning, we did not think our budget could take the strain. At that time most houses in Cedar Key were not air conditioned, and neither were the restaurants. So, one really got the feel for the oppressive and humid summer climate of the Florida Gulf Coast. Afternoon thundershowers were a welcome relief, and even a drop of a couple of degrees in the night and morning temperature was welcome. Because of the shallow, warm Gulf waters surrounding the keys, the night time temperature there is about ten degrees higher than the temperature on the mainland.  Even in north Florida it usually cools down to around 72 degrees at night. That means though that in Cedar Key it never gets below 82 or 80 degrees. that together with high humidity can make for some very uncomfortable nights, especially with the no see ‘ums coming in through the window screens. Anyhow, going to Annie’s  on a summer morning brings back all those memories. To me, there is something heroic and romantic about the place.Glenda has this smoke/storage shed sitting in her parking lot, right by the front entrance to the restaurant. It always catches my eye, and over the years I have photographed it with everything from pinhole to Holga cameras, and I can never quite get a photo that embodies the spirit of the place.

I was delighted to see this set of salt and pepper shakers on my table. To me they looked the same as the ones that were there a couple of decades ago.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, cedar key, cedar key photography, documentary, fl 32625, Florida, Holga, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to “Breakfast at Annie’s…”

  1. Dave says:

    Isn’t it frustrating when you know “there’s a photograph here” and it just won’t come to the surface? I recently got a photo that I’ve known was there for years, and missed many times. It was a great feeling!

  2. Great post! Cedar Key is one of my second homes. Been going there for twenty years, my parents live there.

  3. Lovely set of pictures and an introduction to life on the Keys for me. The “no see’ums” remain a mystery but I’m guessing they bite. Great of the of salt and pepper shakers. I remember people putting grains of rice in the salt to absorb the moisture in steamy London “caffs”.

    • Many thanks Roger! the ‘no see’ums’ are also called sand fleas, and are so tiny that they pass through regular screening. they have a mean bite and come out in force at sunset and sunrise, and of course are attracted to light. By the way, Cedar Key is not in the Florida Keys, but rather in the Gulf, off the north-central Florida coast. Ah yes, the rice in the salt – with our humidity it does not help that much.

  4. Sonali Dalal says:

    must be a wonderful place!

  5. That first photo in particular has a lovely luminosity about it. What did you take it with?
    The words go so well with the photos, though I’ve never been to Cedar Key (or Florida for that matter) I felt I had a real flavour of it.

    • Many thanks Debra – I appreciate the feed-back. The camera was my trusty Sony Cyber-shot DSC-TX10 waterproof camera. After ruining my Canon G10 by gong out on the water with it, I had to get something that was waterproof. Did not have that problem with my manual SLRs, but I guess the digital cameras are so much more sensitive.

  6. Looks like a spot with oodles of character! Love the salt & pepper.

Leave a Reply

