“Smoking Break…..”


This was made a long time ago, about 15 years….One of the waitresses in the restaurant was a friend of mine, and she invited me to come up and do photos in the kitchen. The owners did not mind, and I thoroughly enjoyed going up there once a week or so and exposing a couple of rolls of film, developing and printing them, and taking 8×10’s back to the people I had photographed.

I was using my totally manual Yashica 35mm SLR with a Zeiss lens. Although I was using Neopan 1600, I only exposed it at 800, and developed it in Sprint chemistry. So, usually I photographed with the lens open at around 1.7 and some ridiculous slow shutter speed, something like a 30th of a second, or a 60th of a second, if I thought there might be enough light. Quite a different experience from using digital today.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, cedar key, cedar key photography, documentary, film photography, fl 32625, Florida, photography, portrait, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Smoking Break…..”

  1. andybeel says:

    Hi Christian how times have changed – smoking in a kitchen. The thought police would have you banged up straight away today just for thinking about a quick ciggy! Andy

  2. Lovely quality. With regard to ridiculously low speeds – I tend to shoot a lot of my food pictures at 1/60 at 1.8 on a very high end digital camera, because I like the look.

  3. Hi Andy – thanks – you are absolutely right. Although I always hesitated showing this even back then. However nobody working there seemed to have much of a concern over smoking in the kitchen.

  4. Thanks Roger! Well, I do find there is a difference in shooting digital at low speed as opposed to film. At least film in fully manual cameras – I have much better results with my ‘image stabilized’ digital camera than I ever did with my film cameras.

Leave a Reply

