“Tis the star-spangled banner: O, long may it wave…”


“Today the United States Postal Service will default on a Congressional mandate to pay $5.5 billion to “prefund” health benefits for future retirees. On Friday, the House of Representatives will leave town for a five-week summer vacation. There is no plan to take up postal reform before that summer recess.”

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in 19/98, art, Blurb Book 19/98, color photography, documentary, Florida, Florida Highways, highway culture, landscape, Southern Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Tis the star-spangled banner: O, long may it wave…”

  1. Excellent picture – why don’t you stop more often or do you have a driver? I see so many pictures when I’m driving but haven’t worked out to way to shoot them without driving off the road.

  2. simon0252 says:

    Great series of images, Christian. Let’s hope the politicians sort it all out but I won’t be holding my breath!

  3. Hi Roger, many thanks!!! Well, I have been driving this route literally for decades, and always thought ‘one day’ I would take my time, stop and photograph all these places with love, care, a tripod, and big camera. Obviously I never got around to that – so I finally decided to try taking digital photos while ‘driving by.’ At first, I hated them, and then they grew on me and I realized that they reflected much more accurately what I was actually seeing, then photos taken while stopped, would. And with digital, I could literally just point and shoot – probably should not really do it while driving, and I prefer taking photos while I am riding and my wife is driving.

  4. Thanks Simon!!! – No, I won’t be holding my breath either!

Leave a Reply

