“I actually stopped…”


As I was driving south on 19 yesterday I noticed that one of my favorite derelict gasoline stations had an easy chair sitting on the concrete pad in front of it. What I did not notice was the empty soft-drink bottle next to it. I could not resist a quick U-turn and stop to take this photo. I do have to confess that I did not even see the soft drink bottle till I got home and looked at the photo on the computer.

What really amazes me is that I am seeing more and more derelict gas stations that I never noticed before I started this series of photos. Yesterday I must have seen four more. Of course they are so changed and hidden that I could not react fast enough to take photos. I made a mental note of where they are, but know that I might not see them the next time I drive by.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in 19/98, art, Artist's book, blurb book, Blurb Book 19/98, color photography, digital, documentary, Florida, Florida Highways, highway culture, landscape, photography, Southern Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “I actually stopped…”

  1. Dave says:

    Cool photo!. This would go well in the series I’m working on “Is this Seat Taken?” of abandoned furniture on the side of the road.
    You could use a GPS to mark places as you pass them and be ready the next time you’re passing by…

  2. Great picture. The colour works for me.

  3. Awesome. I love both versions. I wonder who was sitting there?

  4. drawandshoot says:

    This is great, Christian! I like both versions also, but the black and white makes it feel further removed and of another time.

  5. @drawandshoot Good point. What I like about the color one though, is that this can still happen today even with all of the technology and “new” stuff we have everywhere. I feel like it’s more shocking in color.

    Either way they’re both great.

Leave a Reply

