“The Last One….”


This morning, before packing up my pinhole camera, I was able to go down to the darkroom and load the camera and make the last exposure I needed for my Every Building…series. Unlike all the other exposures which were done when the sun was out, we had a totally overcast sky this morning. So, I guesstimated an exposure of 2 minutes – 30 seconds, and it worked out fairly well. I quickly scanned it, and did not even clean it up, before posting. As I have written earlier, I am looking forward to making a folio of the images. they really lend themselves to being printed in the Advanced Black and White Mode on my printer. That way the toning comes out uniform in each print. While an individual image might not look that interesting, I think as a group they become much more meaningful. Although it was a self imposed constraint, I like the fact that I only made one exposure of each structure.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, cedar key, cedar key photography, documentary, fl 32625, Florida, landscape, paper negative, pinhole, Santa Barbara Pinhole Camera, slow exposure, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “The Last One….”

  1. drawandshoot says:

    Congrats on being done the series!

  2. simon0252 says:

    A remarkable folio of images. To be disciplined and make only one exposure of each structure is a great achievement. Working this way is more considered and results in very creative work :)

Leave a Reply

