“The Canal…another attempt…”


My morning bicycle route has some nice curves and turns in it, crossing three small bridges as I head towards the mainland. The illusion is that I ride north, east west, and later on south. However, I once looked at a detailed map of the area and found that it basically just runs straight north heading out of town, and of course south going back home. If I am lucky there is a moderate offshore breeze blowing, which means I have to ‘stomp on it, a bit heading out, but get a nice following breeze coming back home.
Yesterday morning there were some nice clouds up, and so on my way out I stopped at this bridge which is only about half a mile from the house.I was determined to do a triptych. To me this area is one of the most fascinating little spots in Cedar Key. I have photographed here many times before, but I am usually disappointed in the resulting photo. Perhaps I should, as was pointed out to me a while ago, concentrate on some more detailed photos.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, cedar key, cedar key photography, clam farming, digital, fl 32625, Florida, landscape, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “The Canal…another attempt…”

  1. Dave says:

    I like that each of these can stand on their own merits Christian. Nice work!

  2. andybeel says:

    Hi Christian – here, here to Dave’s comments above, also sensitive post production – thanks. Andy

  3. Another beauty! Really like the composition.

  4. drawandshoot says:

    I love the feeling this evokes. A breeziness, and a clarity to the day.

  5. Thanks so much Karen – it is a neat spot!

Leave a Reply

