“The Unbearable Emptiness of Waiting…”


Yesterday was a tense day with long waits in the hospital [everything is fine here]. Usually I don’t photograph under those circumstances. However I made just one exposure which I think speaks to the tension that, accompanied by an emotional emptiness,  speaks to the agony of waiting in hospitals.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, digital negative, documentary, Florida, Southern Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “The Unbearable Emptiness of Waiting…”

  1. Dave says:

    My friend made an image with the same concept that was very moving. Just some stuff neatly piled on a waiting room chair in a room totally devoid of comfort or care. Totall hit home. I think having a person in this image makes it stronger though.
    I’m glad all is well for now.

    • Hi Dave, many thanks. As you well know, and your recent Holga images of benches are an excellent example, empty chairs and benches sure can make powerful images. I was very conflicted about including a person in this one. I do like the ‘Exit’ sign.

  2. Mister Chu says:

    It is the ‘Exit’ sign of course. Good.

    =================

    Thanks! Ya, I love the Exit sign.

Leave a Reply

