“Another View….”


For weeks now we have had clear skies, and no rain. Finally we are getting some drizzles, and that is what it was doing when I wanted to go for a bicycle ride this morning. I waited a while, and despite some rather strong head-winds put in 12 miles. Of course the six miles back were a joy. At No. 4 bridge the clouds looked great and I made a quick stop do do these three exposures. I really wanted to get the road and bridge into the pictures [I was headed off the island that way] and also contrast it with my previous triptych from about the same spot. This time I was facing north-east. Compositionally the problem was that the bridge rail and the road end up in the left panel, when they probably should be in the center, or perhaps the right panel. Nevertheless, I really wanted the image, so here it is.

I ran across this pod-cast from Brooks Jensen. It’s called Structure in the Creative Life, Part 2 and I am linking to it because I think it has some bearing to my triptych project. I greatly appreciate Brooks’s take on things photographic, and if you do photography, I think you might want to take a close look at his pod-casts and and writings. His book Letting go of the Camera is one of my favorite photography books. If you are familiar with Chase Jarvis’s work, you can think of Brooks’s work as the antithesis to Chase’s work.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, cedar key photography, digital, fl 32625, Florida, Florida Highways, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Another View….”

  1. Fantastic sky! And thanks for the link to the podcast.

  2. drawandshoot says:

    Beautiful triptych, Christian.

Leave a Reply

