“Triptych Panorama Experiment…”


For some time I have been puzzling over and experimenting with different ways to show the scenery of the Gulf of Mexico surrounding us. When I look out the windows of our house I can’t see any water, yet tidal waters from the Gulf are no more than a hundred yards or so from three sides of the house. One can probably get further away from the water on a big cruise liner than I can get away from it here.

So this morning I made some photos on my way to the Arts Center. This view is from the area that used to be the informal town beach till they built a road here and put up a motel, now closed. Rather than seamlessly combining them in Photoshop, I combined them to show that they were separate images but still conveyed the sweeping view. They are obviously not perfectly ‘joined’ but I was not trying to do that. I do think I was fortunate in having this wonderful cloud formation that dipped in the middle and contained interesting looking clouds. It is probably because of those clouds that the image ‘works.’ It is always nice to come up with something usable on the first try. For me that often means it will be a long time before I can make another image that comes together that well.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, cedar key, cedar key photography, digital, documentary, fl 32625, Florida, landscape, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Triptych Panorama Experiment…”

  1. drawandshoot says:

    Christian, this does come together beautifully. A perfect format.

    ================

    Thanks Karen! Sometimes one gets lucky! :)

  2. akismet-7a7dc96260ac445b0efd49b2124c8a88 says:

    Nicely done! Sometimes, you just have to be there and actually “see” it when it happens in front of you. Others might never have noticed it. When it’s a rare occurance to boot…

    ============

    Many thanks Dave – it does help being at the right place at the right time. this morning I did another one at a different location. No clouds, so I will find out how that works!

    -c-

  3. Milinda says:

    I think this comes together wonderfully! Your are right about the clouds, not sure the impact would be as nice without them but I do like this!

    =======================

    Hey thanks Milinda! It was great seeing you!

    -c-

  4. simon0252 says:

    A great way to present the images Christian.

    ==================

    Thanks Simon!

    -c-

Leave a Reply

