“New York Times Style Magazine…”


If you love doing portraits as much as I do, you might be interested in this past Sunday’s New York Times Style Magazine. There is a fine cover portrait of Jessica Chastain by Cass Bird. I have been following Bird’s work ever since her portraits started showing up on the Times Magazine’s cover a while ago.
Inside the magazine are a bunch more excellent portraits, this time by Anton Corbijn. What is remarkable about the work is that it is a) good and b) seems to be  unphotoshoped. There are actually glaring highlights on some noses and skin ‘imperfections’ are shown. So, congratulations to the ‘models,’ the photographer, and the photo editors for publishing such work.
It is actually sad that I am excited about seeing realistic portraits of women in a fashion spread.
Do take a look, they are fun!

Some quotes from Anton Corbijn that I really like:

“…there’s an appeal to me in the life of the photographer — one camera and meeting people. No lights, no assistants, just me taking the photograph. The really simple approach to photography is a great balance to making the films. So I really appreciate that life again after making films….”

“…I use artificial lights if they’re there, but I don’t carry lights. That’s how I used to photograph in the ’70s. It’s back to basics in that sense….”

“…. I have never understood models. I find it really hard to find beauty in that or to discover beauty because the beauty was so obvious. I always found it more interesting to discover beauty….”

“…You think I listen to an iPod? Never. I don’t listen to music on headphones. I don’t like it and I don’t think it’s good for you either….I never walk around with headphones on. I think you take yourself out of daily life if you do that. There is so much happening around you that is interesting….”

 

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, color photography, editorial photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “New York Times Style Magazine…”

  1. Thanks for the link, those pictures are really interesting to study…

    ==================

    You are welcome!
    -c-

Leave a Reply

