“Cera Una Volta….”


Once upon a time I had this wonderful little sailboat called Solla Sollew. It was a Drascombe Dabber. We were living in Hawaii at the time the Dabber bug bit me. I bought the boat and had it shipped over from England. It arrived on its trailer, and all wrapped in burlap. It was a gorgeous fiberglass sailboat that could be rowed and also carry an outboard motor. To keep with the origin of the boat, I put a little Seagull outboard on it. From Hawaii I had it shipped to the West Coast of the US when we went back to the Mainland, and from there trailered it across country to Massachusetts where we were going to be living. It ended up coming to Cedar Key with us, and that’s where this manipulated SX-70 photo was made. Taking care of the boat, launching and recovering it every time I went sailing finally became a little much for me, and I reluctantly sold it.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, cedar key, cedar key photography, color photography, fl 32625, Florida, photography, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Cera Una Volta….”

  1. I really enjoy your blog. I hope you don’t mind but I have nominated you for the Sunshine Blog Award. Please see my latest post for details.

    ===================

    Many thanks Vivian! Of course I don’t mind, just keep in mind that my blog is not always ‘PG-13!’

Leave a Reply

