“The End of the Street, almost….pinhole…”


I am almost finished with the eastern end of the street. I think there is one more little house left. Then I have a few more to go on the western end.

It is interesting to me how morose this body of work is getting to be, or can be interpreted. Because of the relatively long exposures, moving cars and people are excluded from each photo. I am really much more of a portrait photographer than a landscape one, so this feels rather strange to me. Architectural photographers have taken advantage of this and often used long exposures in busy cities to show buildings and streets devoid of people and traffic.

While it is to late to get my work into this year’s AIPAD photography show, I am working hard on getting in next year. One of the things I am missing is a good artist’s statement. After much mental anguish working on it, I found the artybollocks generator , and was able to come up with a splendid statement that should please even the most dyed in the wool post-modern gallerist or curator.

Christian’s Artist Statement

My work explores the relationship between acquired synesthesia and romance tourism.

With influences as diverse as Wittgenstein and Roy Lichtenstein, new insights are distilled from both constructed and discovered discourse.

Ever since I was a pre-adolescent I have been fascinated by the endless oscillation of the moment. What starts out as undefined soon becomes finessed into a hegemony of power, leaving only a sense of failing and the unlikelihood of a new beginning.

As wavering derivatives become undefined through frantic and academic practice, the viewer is left with a new agenda of the edges of our era.

:)

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, cedar key, cedar key photography, documentary, fl 32625, Florida, landscape, paper negative, photography, pinhole, Santa Barbara Pinhole Camera, slow exposure, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “The End of the Street, almost….pinhole…”

  1. drawandshoot says:

    :)

    Ah, thanks for the smile Karen!

  2. Because of the unique way in which I choose to browse the internet I read your ARTISTIC statement first………This really does read like something that I have seen so many times and for one brief second I thought you were serious. I then read up the rest of the page and balance was restored to the universe.

    Ugh, that would have been scary! :)

  3. That really is a fun site, I got this and I really think it hit the nail on the head…
    Artist Statement
    My work explores the relationship between postmodern discourse and UFO sightings.
    With influences as diverse as Blake and Frida Kahlo, new insights are created from both traditional and modern meanings.
    Ever since I was a teenager I have been fascinated by the ephemeral nature of the moment. What starts out as triumph soon becomes debased into a dialectic of temptation, leaving only a sense of decadence and the chance of a new beginning.
    As wavering phenomena become transformed through frantic and undefined practice, the viewer is left with an insight into the darkness of our era.

    Hey Brendan, that’s good – you might actually want to use this if you ever submit work to a Postmodern venue for consideration!

Leave a Reply

