“Frame It!…”


Alexandria bought some reasonably priced frames to use for her students’ work in an upcoming exhibit. The frames are for 8.5×11 paper, and since I had a couple of test prints from my pinhole series laying around, she went ahead and framed them up. We had some discussion about my printing the ‘landscape’ oriented photos vertically on the paper. I really don’t have an explanation for this, other than that I generally like that presentation. Although I printed the images ‘bottom weighed,’ in my opinion they are they are still a bit too low on the paper. That is one of the reasons why it is helpful to frame things up. It brings a ‘seriousness’ to the photo that is lacking if it is reproduced just on the computer, or on a piece of paper laying around in a box. Of course, I used to cut mats for all my photos before I would even attempt to frame them, but I have pretty much stopped doing that.
Anyhow, here is a ‘quick and dirty’ photo of Gunfight at High Noon….pinhole framed. Although I tried and thought I had eliminated my shadow from intruding into the frame, that obviously is not the case.

About christian harkness

Photographer and printmaker; living and working in north Florida.
This entry was posted in art, black & white, cedar key, cedar key photography, fl 32625, Florida, landscape, Southern Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Frame It!…”

  1. Hmmm. My first impression was that you’d got it placed just about right. And very good it looks, too.

  2. Many thanks Marty – it is always great to get a ‘second opinion!’

  3. I like the negative space above and below the photo, it is less distracting then a traditional landscape layout. I am not sure that is the right frame for that piece, but I understand the situation here. I wonder would it be even more effective with more negative space. Maybe a larger square frame? I still love this series no matter how its framed.

  4. Hey Krislyn, thanks – Ya, I know what you are talking about. I have also been thinking about printing the images on 13×19 paper with the image relatively a bit higher, and a very thin black frame around them. Right now I have no plans to or opportunity to show them, so the whole thing is a bit mute. That’s of course always the issue. It is fun framing stuff but then, where do you put it!? Glad you like the series – it is really growing on my.

Leave a Reply

